Cider/beer bread with caraway seeds

cider bread with carawayIMGP1373

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

beer bread and carawaybeer bread with caraway seeds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I adapted this from here, only I kneaded mine as I’m not sure how I feel about no knead breads. Anyway that would be wrong seeing as my blog is called ‘need to knead’! I made this with a cheap can a beer the first time. I decided that I loved it so much I made it again. Except 1.5 times bigger and with cider instead. The caraway seeds remained a firm fixture as the flavour they impart is mega good. I’ve put the recipe for the slightly bigger loaf here because bigger is better. You can use beer or cider in it.

Ingredients:

  • 840g strong white flour
  • 10g fast action yeast
  • 150ml water
  • 560ml beer or cider
  • 13g salt

Instructions:

1) Mix flour, yeast and salt together. Ensure salt does not directly touch the yeast.

2) Make a well in the flour. Pour water and beer/cider into it.

3) Mix with a wooden spoon until roughly comes together. Then flour your hands and get kneading.

4) Knead until soft, smooth and passes the windowpane test. You should be able to get something like this:

windowpane test

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(excuse my chipped nails)

5) Leave to rise whilst covered with cling film for about an hour (or until doubled in size). Or you can let it rise overnight in the fridge to develop the flavour. I did the latter, but it depends how much time you have. I like to rise things overnight because you can bake it in the morning and have fresh bread for lunch.

6) Punch down and shape into a loaf shape. Let rise for another hour or so whilst covered loosely with oiled cling film.

7) Preheat the oven to 220C. Have a pan of boiling water on the bottom tray of oven ready for when you put the bread in (this is to create steam). Bake the bread for 10 mins (preferably without the fan option) then take out the tray of water, turn the oven temperature down to 180C and turn the fan back on.

8) Let it cool a little before tucking in. I let it cool until it’s still a little warm because it’s best that way.

buttered cider bread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading! KJ

3 thoughts on “Cider/beer bread with caraway seeds

Leave a Reply

