Rose & Pistachio Cupcakes

Rose & Pistachio cupcakesRose & Pistachio Cupcakes

These are rose and pistachio flavour cupcakes, made following this recipe. I did increase the quantity of buttercream, because following the recipe gave me about enough to decorate only half the cupcakes (makes about 12 in total). But it was a great recipe and produced lovely cakes. This is the first time I’ve baked anything with this flavour combination, but I’ve been wanting to do it forever. I do associate rose and pistachio with turkish delight, which I dislike, so not really a delight then… but rose and pistachio in a cupcake makes a very delightful cupcake indeed. I just love the pop of green pistachio nuts against the pink buttercream. And obviously, I also had to adorn it with marzipan flowers, because I couldn’t resist being a fuss pot!

Ingredients for cupcakes:

  • 120g butter, softened
  • 160g caster sugar
  • 1tsp rosewater
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 2tbsp milk
  • 50g chopped pistachios (I chopped these quite fine so that they wouldn’t sink, so no where near as chunky as the pistachios sprinkled on top)

Ingredients for buttercream:

  • 200g butter, softened
  • 400g icing sugar, sifted
  • 1.5tsp rosewater
  • 2tbsp milk

Instructions:

1) Preheat the oven to 180˚C/350˚F/gas 4. Place cupcake cases in a 12 hole muffin tin.
2) Beat together the butter and sugar, until soft and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in rosewater.
3) Sift in the flour and baking powder. Then add milk & pistachios and fold gently.
4) Spoon the mixture evenly amongst the 12 cases.
5) Bake for about 18mins, They don’t really brown at all – so don’t wait for them to brown. When they are ready, an inserted cocktail stick (or equivalent sharp utensil – i tend to use a knife) comes out clean. :Let them cool before piping on buttercream.
6) Whilst the cupcakes are baking/cooling, make the buttercream by creaming together the butter and icing sugar, then adding the food dye, rose water and milk.
7) Pipe the buttercream on to the cooled down cakes, then sprinkle with chopped pistachios and decorate with marzipan flowers.
 
The buttercream on these cupcakes was actually much pinker than some of these photos show, more of a delicate petal pink. The first picture shows the colour best.
 
Rose & Pistachio Cupcakespistachio and rose cupcakes
 
What does the letter A have in common with a flower? Both are followed by bees!!! Bzzzzz.
9 thoughts on “Rose & Pistachio Cupcakes

  1. They look so cute. I am not sure I would want to eat them. Maybe I would put them in my showcase and keep staring at them for days and days lol

  2. I love anything rose and pistachio, though sadly bf is allergic to the latter. However, I can imagine it’d be good with rosewater and almonds as well! I have to try those, mm! 😀

Leave a Reply

