Pumpkin and cocoa marbled cupcakes

pumpkin and cocoa cupcakespumpkin and cocoa cupcakes

This recipe was adapted from this page – I changed the quantities from cups to grams, added cocoa to create the marbled effect. changed some of the spice quantities and baked it in cupcake form rather than as a loaf…. So it’s pretty different now. Nowadays, it’s not often that I bake cake – I have evolved into more of a bread baker. Years of having 3 teaspoons per mug of tea and a hobby of squirrelling away chocolate and sweets has taken its toll. I don’t really crave sugar that often any more, and don’t have the stomach to eat 8 cupcakes in one sitting. When I bake cake, I worry that it will go to waste. However, these pumpkin and cocoa creations were demolished pretty quick (mostly by me); so as you can guess I was pretty pleased with them. Although, sadly, I used the last bit of my canned pumpkin I took home with me from America. This is a shame because I now want to incorporate pumpkin into EVERYTHING. I’ve caught the pumpkin bug. I NEEEEEED to make a pumpkin and cocoa yeast bread.

Ingredients:

  • 200g self raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 200g sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 240ml pumpkin puree
  • 112g melted butter
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 50ml water
  • 2 tsp treacle/molasses

Ingredients for glaze:

  • 150g icing sugar
  • a few teaspoons of orange juice, until glaze is runny enough to be drizzled, but not too runny.

Instructions:

1)  Preheat the oven to 180C. Mix together the pumpkin purée, melted butter, beaten eggs, water, molasses.

2) In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, sugar, baking powder, ground ginger and cinnamon. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix together until just combined. Don’t overmix.

3)Distribute the batter evenly between 9 cupcake cases, nestled in a cupcake baking tray. Place the tray in the oven and bake for about 40 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the centre should be clean when removed.

4) Allow to cool. Meanwhile, make the glaze by mixing the icing sugar with the orange juice. A little orange juice goes a long way. Drizzle this on to the cupcakes (once they are cool!).

Really quick recipe! Enjoy 🙂

PumpKING cupcakes! Mmmm.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin and cocoa marbled cupcakes

Leave a Reply

